NASDAQ: SPCX $113.50 ▼ 15.9% vs IPO · 27 Jul 2026 close
Verdict: No position
Private wealth · Investment committee · Confidential

The rocket company is the smallest business in this rocket company.

Space Exploration Technologies listed on 12 June 2026 and has since fallen below its own offer price. We were asked one question: should we buy it? This note builds the answer from the segments up — and argues against itself as hard as it argues for itself.

Where the price sits against every value we can defend
$ per share. Our three scenarios, the traded price, and the two prices the market has already paid.
§01

We are not buyers at $113.50. The asset is extraordinary; the security is not.

Starlink is one of the best infrastructure businesses built this century. That is not the question. The question is whether this security, at this price, with these rights, pays us for what we would be taking on. It does not.

Probability-weighted value
$53 /shEst
▼ 53% below spot
30% bear / 45% base / 25% bull across our 2030 model.
Enterprise value / 2026E sales
59×Der
$1.48tn EV on $24.9bn revenue
Against a business that will not generate free cash flow until 2029 at the earliest.
Free float today
4.8%Rep
▼ 911m shares unlock ~6 Aug
Price discovery has not happened yet. The first real clearing price arrives in December.
Position we recommend
No position
0% of NAV
Staged entry ladder opens at $55, capped at 3% — see §12.
Everything still legible below is a figure SpaceX reported. Everything blacked out is ours.
  • It is not a space company. 61% of revenue is a satellite ISP, 17% is an AI lab, 22% is launch. You would be underwriting a broadband monopoly that is financing an AI capital programme.
  • The profitable segment is on a treadmill. Starlink's 63% segment EBITDA margin falls to roughly 31% once you fund the ~2,000 satellites a year that must be replaced forever.
  • The valuation already embeds the bull case. Our generous sum-of-the-parts tops out at $104. Spot is $113.50. There is no scenario in our model where we are paid to take the risk today.
  • You would own economics without rights. 85.1% voting control with no sunset, mandatory arbitration of securities claims, and a derivative-suit threshold no client of ours could meet.
Sources
Form S-1 (SEC, 20 May 2026); TradingView SPCX quote, 27 Jul 2026; Ortex short interest via Yahoo Finance; DarrowEverett LLP and National Law Review governance analyses. Valuation figures are this note's model.
§02

Three businesses in one ticker

The name on the certificate is the least useful guide to what you own. On 2025 revenue, SpaceX is a broadband operator first, an AI laboratory second, and a launch provider third.

Revenue by segment
$bn. FY2024 derived from reported growth rates; FY2026E is our model.

Connectivity — Starlink

$11.4bn, 61% of revenue, +50% y/y. $7.17bn of segment EBITDA at a 63% margin. This segment is the entire profit pool.

Space — launch and Dragon

$4.1bn, 22% of revenue, +8% y/y. 85% of all global launches, and only $653m of segment EBITDA, because roughly $3bn a year of Starship R&D sits here.

AI — xAI and X

$3.2bn, 17% of revenue, +22% y/y — and $12.7bn of 2025 capex. Acquired February 2026 in an all-share merger marking xAI at $250bn.

Sources
Form S-1 segment disclosure via Morningstar, Via Satellite and Mostly Metrics S-1 breakdowns; CNBC (3 Feb 2026) on the $1.25tn xAI merger.
§03

Where every dollar of revenue, profit and capital actually goes

Read the last two columns together. The segment that produces all of the profit receives a fifth of the capital; the segment that produces none of it receives three fifths.

SegmentRevenueGrowth Segment EBITDAMarginCapex Capex / revWhat it really is
2025 capital allocation
61% to AI
$12.7bn of $20.7bn total capex went to the segment generating 17% of revenue and negative EBITDA. In Q1 2026 alone capex was $10.1bn, $7.72bn of it AI.
Cash generation, group
$6.8bn OCF
Against $20.7bn of capex — a ~$14bnDer free-cash-flow deficit in 2025, funded by debt and then the IPO.
Reported result
–$4.9bn
FY2025 net loss, on $18.7bn of revenue and $6.6bn of adjusted EBITDA. The gap is depreciation, $1.9bn of interest, and the AI segment.
Sources
Form S-1 via Mostly Metrics and Morningstar S-1 breakdowns (segment revenue, EBITDA, capex, operating cash flow); S&P Global Ratings free-cash-flow commentary via Motley Fool (30 Jun 2026). AI segment EBITDA is a balancing figure against reported group adjusted EBITDA of $6.6bn — it is not separately disclosed.
§04

Subscribers are compounding. Revenue per subscriber is not.

Starlink has quadrupled its base in two years. It has done so by moving down the income curve — GDP-adjusted pricing across Africa, South-East Asia and Latin America. Both of these facts are true at once, and only one of them is in the bull case.

Subscribers
millions, period end
Average revenue per user
$ / month. Only the two reported endpoints are plotted.

A 33% ARPU decline against a 348% subscriber increase still compounds revenue. But it changes what the terminal business is worth: every incremental cohort is cheaper, and the satellite serving it costs the same. Direct-to-cell now has 10m users across 30+ carrier partners in 22 countries, underpinned by $19.6bn of EchoStar S-band spectrum — a genuine, separable moat no rival can replicate at any price.

Sources
Form S-1 (subscribers 2023–Q1 2026, ARPU, segment income) via PCMag/Intellectia, CNBC (21 May 2026) and Dealroom; SpaceNews and DCD on the EchoStar AWS-4, H-block and S-band transactions ($17bn + $2.6bn); Starlink Direct-to-Cell disclosures (Feb 2026).
§05

Starlink's 63% margin overstates the cash it produces

A Starlink satellite has a design life of roughly five years, after which it is deliberately de-orbited and burned up. To hold a 10,400-satellite constellation flat, SpaceX must launch about 2,000 replacements a year — forever. That is not growth capex. It is the cost of standing still, and EBITDA does not see it.

2026E connectivity — headline EBITDA to sustaining cash flow
$bn. The replacement charge is our estimate, inferred from the $4.2bn connectivity capex line and the annual replacement requirement.

Why this decides the multiple

A tower company's asset lasts forty years, so EBITDA approximates cash and 20× is defensible. A constellation's asset lasts five. Applying tower-like multiples to Starlink EBITDA is the single most common error in the published bull cases, and it is most of our gap to the Street.

Sources
Form S-1 (connectivity segment margin 63%, connectivity capex $4.2bn FY2025); TechSpot and Communications Daily on de-orbit counts and the five-year design life (260 de-orbited in the six months to May 2026, 349 more decommissioned); Orbital Radar constellation count of 10,413 at 1 June 2026.
§06

The most complete monopoly in modern industry — and it barely moves the valuation

We are not dismissing this business. It is remarkable. It is also 22% of revenue growing at 8%, and the market is not paying $1.5 trillion for it.

Share of global orbital launch, 2025
2,213 tonnes to orbit across 170 launches, at a 99%+ success rate over ~650 cumulative Falcon flights.
List price, Falcon 9
$74m
Raised from $70m in February 2026 — pricing power in a market with no substitute at scale.
Internal cost, Starlink flights
$15–30m
The vertical integration is the real asset: SpaceX launches its own constellation at a fraction of what rivals must pay.
NSSL Phase 3 Lane 2
$5.9bn
28 national-security missions. SpaceX flew 11 of 12 NSSL missions; ULA's comparable award is $5.4bn for ~19.
Segment EBITDA
$653m
On $4.1bn of revenue, because roughly $3bn a year of Starship R&D is charged here against no offsetting revenue.

The point a screen misses

Strip out Starship and the mature Falcon franchise is plausibly a $3.5bn+ EBITDAEst business at monopoly margins — genuinely excellent. But that R&D is not optional: Starship is required to launch the V3 satellites, build the propellant depots and deliver the NASA lander. The monopoly is being pledged as collateral against the next bet.

Sources
Form S-1 via Mostly Metrics (170 launches, 2,213 t, 85% share, 99%+ success, segment EBITDA, Starship R&D); SatBase on the February 2026 Falcon 9 price increase; New Space Economy and NextBigFuture on internal launch cost; GovConWire and Via Satellite on NSSL Phase 3 Lane 1 ($739m) and Lane 2 awards.
§07

Follow the capital, and the thesis you are actually underwriting appears

In February 2026 SpaceX absorbed xAI in the largest merger ever recorded — SpaceX at $1.0tn, xAI at $250bn. What that transaction did was point the cash flows of a satellite broadband monopoly at an AI compute build-out.

Capital expenditure by segment
$bn. FY2025 full year against Q1 2026, a single quarter.

Q1 2026 capex, annualised

~$40bnDer
$10.1bn in a single quarter, against $6.8bn of operating cash flow for the whole of 2025.

Cash consumed, Q1 2026

$8.8bn
The balance fell from $24.7bn to $15.9bn in three months — which is why the $75bn IPO and the $25bn bond were not optional.

What the bulls are capitalising

Goldman Sachs models AI revenue rising from $3.2bn in 2025 to $322bn by 2030 — a hundredfold in five years — with free cash flow turning positive in 2031. Morgan Stanley models $3.3tn of group revenue by 2040. These are not forecasts we can underwrite on a client's behalf. They are the entire gap between $113 and our $41.

Sources
CNBC (3 Feb 2026) on the $1.25tn xAI merger and the 0.1433 exchange ratio; Form S-1 capex detail via Mostly Metrics and Morningstar; CNBC (23 Jun 2026) on the $25bn bond sale; Seeking Alpha and Yahoo Finance summaries of the Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley initiations (July 2026).
§08

The balance sheet is the clock. It runs to roughly 2029.

Pro-forma cash
~$87bnDer
$15.9bn at 31 March, plus $75bn from the IPO and $25bn of bonds, less the $20bn bridge and estimated Q2 burn.
Pro-forma debt
~$34bnDer
$1.9bn of annual interest expense against $6.8bn of operating cash flow.
Net cash
~$53bnDer
The war chest. At the Q1 2026 burn rate it is roughly two years of runway.
FCF breakeven
2029–31
S&P Global Ratings: negative through 2029. Goldman Sachs: positive in 2031.
Operating cash flow against capital expenditure
$bn. Q1 2026 shown at its annualised run-rate for comparability.
  • You are funding, not harvesting. Between now and 2029 the equity's job is to absorb burn. There is no dividend, no buyback, and no earnings to anchor a valuation.
  • Dilution is a live risk. The company raised $75bn of equity and $25bn of debt inside two weeks. If AI capex holds near a $40bn annual run-rate, a second equity raise before breakeven is a reasonable expectation, not a tail case.
  • Musk's award adds ~1.3bn shares. A 1.0bn-share grant plus a 302m-share replacement award, roughly 10% dilution. The 1.0bn tranche only vests alongside a million-person Mars colony, so we treat it as benign; the 302m tranche, tied to market capitalisation and orbital data centres, is not.
Sources
Form S-1 (cash, debt, interest, operating cash flow, capex); CNBC (23 Jun 2026) on the $25bn bond and $20bn bridge; S&P Global Ratings via Motley Fool; Goldman Sachs initiation via Seeking Alpha; Fortune and National Law Review on the January 2026 award and the 302m replacement grant. Pro-forma balances are our derivation.
§09

The contracted base is real, high-grade — and far too small to matter

This is the part of the business a credit analyst would like. It is also $28.4bn against a $1.48tn enterprise value: roughly 1.9% of what you are being asked to pay.

Contracted backlog against enterprise value
Drawn to scale, no log axis.
ProgrammeValueRead
Total federal awards to date$22bnNASA, DoD and Space Force combined
NSSL Phase 3 Lane 2$5.9bn28 missions; ULA $5.4bn for ~19
NSSL Phase 3 Lane 1$739mSDA and NRO task orders, FY26–28
NRO Starshield$1.8bn~183 satellites deployed; follow-on classified
Deferred revenue recognised$12.1bn~$9.5bn of backlog converts within 12 months

The two-sided risk a generalist misses

Government revenue is usually treated as defensive. Here it is also a political exposure: a single principal controls 85.1% of the votes, is a prominent and volatile public figure, and the counterparty is the administration of the day. The same concentration that wins sole-source awards can lose them. We would not underwrite this revenue at a utility's discount rate.

Sources
Form S-1 (backlog $28.4bn, deferred revenue $12.1bn, 12-month conversion ~$9.5bn) via Mostly Metrics; GovConWire (NSSL Lane 1); Via Satellite and Payload (Lane 2); Fed-Spend aggregate federal award tracking; NRO Starshield contract reporting.
§10

No one is close today. Three parties are building anyway.

The honest read is neither "unassailable moat" nor "Amazon is coming". It is that Starlink has a five-year operating lead, that the lead is narrowing at the edges, and that the binding constraint on Starlink's economics is more likely to be terrestrial fibre than another constellation.

Satellites in orbit, operational constellations
Count, mid-2026. Competitor counts move weekly.

Amazon Leo — the real threat

~298 production satellites against an FCC requirement of 1,618 by July 2026. Amazon has applied for a two-year extension and contracted 22 further launches; enterprise beta opened in April. Materially behind schedule, but funded by a balance sheet that does not need this to work — and willing to price aggressively when it arrives.

China — Qianfan and Guowang

Qianfan at 218 satellites targeting 15,000 by 2030; Guowang targeting 400 by 2027 en route to 13,000, with a reported 96% reduction in satellite unit cost. Not a competitor for Starlink's Western base — but a direct competitor for exactly the emerging markets into which Starlink is discounting to sustain growth. This is the under-priced one.

The constraint that actually binds

Starlink's ARPU fell 33% before Amazon sold a single consumer subscription. That decline is a mix effect from chasing lower-income geographies — which is to say the ceiling on Western ARPU is being set by fibre and 5G fixed-wireless, not by LEO rivals. Competition arrives as margin compression long before it arrives as subscriber losses.

Sources
Orbital Radar (Starlink 10,413 at 1 Jun 2026); Amazon Leo counts and FCC milestone via TheNextWeb, Orbital Radar and Omdia; CGTN, SpaceNews and China-in-Space on Qianfan and Guowang; Form S-1 ARPU disclosure.
§11

You would be buying the economics without any of the rights

We rank this above Starship, above Amazon, above the multiple. Every other risk in this note can be monitored and re-underwritten. This one is structural, permanent, and was chosen deliberately.

Voting control
85.1%
Class B carries ten votes to Class A's one; Musk holds 93.6% of Class B. There is no sunset provision.
Securities claims
Mandatory
arbitration
Public shareholders have contracted away the securities class action — the principal enforcement mechanism in US equity markets.
Derivative standing
Tens of $bn
threshold
Under the Texas threshold adopted, no client of ours — and few institutions — could ever bring a derivative claim.
Compensation
Uncapped
~1.3bn shares
Norway's sovereign wealth fund opposed it, citing size, dilution and "lack of mitigation of key person risk".

The IPO premium above intrinsic value is essentially one isolated bet: that xAI plus space-based compute becomes a real business, not an open-ended capex sink. Aswath Damodaran, NYU Stern — valuing the equity at $1.3tn, 28% below the IPO valuation

  • We raise the discount rate, not the narrative. Our 2030 model discounts at 12% rather than the 9–10% we would apply to a comparable infrastructure asset with ordinary governance. That spread is the governance charge, and it costs roughly a fifth of present value.
  • We cap the position. A holding you cannot escalate, litigate or vote is a holding you must be able to lose. Hence the 3% ceiling in §12 — a constraint that binds before valuation does.
  • Key-man risk is undiversifiable here. Musk is simultaneously the controlling shareholder, the chief executive, the chief engineer of Starship, the counterparty relationship with the US government, and a politically exposed person. There is no succession disclosure that mitigates this, because there is no structure that could.
Sources
National Law Review and DarrowEverett LLP analyses of the S-1 governance provisions; Fortune (20 May and 6 Jun 2026) on the compensation award; Norges Bank Investment Management opposition as reported; Damodaran valuation via Motley Fool (11 Jun 2026). The 12% discount rate and the 3% cap are our judgements.
§12

Only 4.8% of this company trades. That changes, on a dated schedule.

The June price action was not price discovery. A $75bn offering into a 4% float, followed by a fast-tracked Nasdaq-100 inclusion forcing $4.3bn of index buying, produced a $225 print that no willing seller ever tested. The correction to $113 is that artefact unwinding — and it is only partly done.

Free float as a share of total shares outstanding
%, by lock-up milestone. Dates are anchored to the 12 June 2026 listing; the prospectus governs.

4 August — first earnings

911m shares
unlock about two trading days later — 1.41× the entire current float, and 1.45× the size of the IPO itself. Roughly $103bn of notional.

Short interest

56% of float
~360m shares on loan. Bears have taken $15.5bn out of this and are adding, not covering. This is also precisely why we will not short it.

The conclusion we draw

There is no analytical reason to own this equity before December. A buyer today pays a scarcity price into a known, dated, five-month supply expansion. Patience here is not indecision — it is the highest-expected-value action available.

Sources
Investing.com and SPCX.capital lock-up schedules; Yahoo Finance (4 August earnings date and the 911.5m first tranche); CNBC (26 Jun 2026) on Nasdaq-100 inclusion and $4.3bn of forced buying; Ortex short-interest data via Yahoo Finance.
§13

Valuing each piece on its own merits never reaches today's price

Two independent routes are run and cross-checked. The first values the segments as they are today. Change the scenario and every figure below moves with it.

Enterprise value by component
$bn. Hover any segment for the assumption behind it.
Scenario
Implied value per share
$49
Method
Connectivity — 2026E segment EBITDA of $9.8bn at 14× / 22× / 35×.
Space — the mature Falcon franchise, with Starship as option value in the bull.
AI — the bear compresses toward a revenue multiple; the base holds the $250bn merger mark; the bull assumes xAI takes real frontier share.
Orbital data centres — zero in the bear; probability-weighted option value elsewhere. No revenue exists today.
Spectrum — EchoStar AWS-4, H-block and S-band, marked around the ~$19.6bn paid.
Net cash of ~$53bn is added to reach equity value.
Sources
Segment EBITDA and revenue from the Form S-1; EchoStar consideration from SpaceNews and DCD; the xAI $250bn mark from the February 2026 merger terms via CNBC. All multiples, the orbital-data-centre option value and the resulting per-share figures are ours.
§14

Building it forward from the segments gives the same answer

The second route projects each segment to 2030 and discounts back at 12%. It lands at $41 against the sum-of-the-parts' $49 — and the agreement between two different methods is why we hold the conclusion with confidence.

2030E revenue and EBITDA by segment
$bn. Move the exit multiple to see it flow through to present value.
Scenario
Exit multiple
20×
Present value per share
$41

Discounted at 12% over four years — a deliberate premium to the 9–10% an infrastructure asset of this quality would ordinarily carry, reflecting the governance structure in §11.

Sources
The 2030 segment revenue and margin assumptions, the exit multiple, the discount rate and the cumulative burn are all ours, built forward from S-1 segment disclosure. Cumulative burn is anchored to S&P Global Ratings' expectation of negative free cash flow through 2029.
§15

What would have to be true to justify $113.50, stated plainly

To break even on a four-year view, SpaceX must reach roughly $2.4 trillion of enterprise value in 2030 — which on a 22× multiple means about $110bn of EBITDA, some two and a half times our base case and close to Alphabet's EBITDA today.

Present value per share
2030E EBITDA × exit multiple, discounted 12% over four years. Ringed cells clear today's price.
Cells clearing $113.50
And every one of them requires 2030 EBITDA at or above $116bn — our bull case, which we assign a 25% probability.
Required 2030 enterprise value
$2.4tn
To return merely the 12% cost of equity from $113.50, before any margin of safety.
Our base case implies
$41 /sh
$44bn of 2030 EBITDA at 20×. Reaching today's price needs both the EBITDA and the multiple to beat us — not one or the other.
§16

We are materially below every published target. Here is exactly why.

We are not claiming better information than Morgan Stanley. We are making a different judgement about one line: what a pre-scale AI business inside a satellite operator is worth today, and what discount rate a shareholder with no enforcement rights should demand.

Published price targets against spot
$ per share, initiations, July 2026.
  • The AI segment. Goldman carries xAI revenue from $3.2bn to $322bn by 2030 — 100× in five years. We carry it to $60bn in our base case, still a nineteen-fold increase and already generous. Nearly the entire target gap sits in this one assumption.
  • The Starlink multiple. The Street capitalises segment EBITDA. We capitalise segment EBITDA after the replacement capital required to keep the constellation in orbit — roughly halving the base. That is the treadmill in §05.
  • The discount rate. We charge 12% where an infrastructure comparable would carry 9–10%, because the governance structure removes the remedies that ordinarily justify the lower rate.

In fairness to the other side

The market is currently trading below every one of these targets, and short sellers have made $15.5bn. Consensus has been wrong in our direction so far. That is not evidence we are right — but it does mean the burden of proof presently sits with the bulls.

Sources
Morgan Stanley (Adam Jonas, $300 base / $600 bull), Goldman Sachs (Eric Sheridan, $205), Evercore ISI ($230), Wells Fargo ($230) and UBS ($210) initiations via Benzinga, Seeking Alpha, Yahoo Finance and Parameter (July 2026); Damodaran's $1.3tn equity value via Motley Fool, converted at 13.5bn shares.
§17

The strongest version of the bull case — and why it still does not clear

The bull case, made properly

  • Vertical integration is not a slogan here. SpaceX launches its own constellation at $15–30m a flight while rivals pay $74m. No competitor closes that gap without first building a reusable rocket. That is a decade of lead time, and it compounds.
  • The competitive position is genuinely improving. Amazon Leo is ~1,300 satellites behind its own FCC milestone. Enterprise customers spending over $750k a year have shown zero voluntary churn since 2023. The spectrum is irreplaceable at any price.
  • The AI optionality is real. Colossus is among the largest coherent compute clusters on Earth. If orbital data centres work even partially, SpaceX is the only entity that can launch, power and cool them — and it owns the launch cost.
  • The 50% drawdown has already done work. At $225 this was indefensible. At $113 the gap to our own bull case is closed, and bears are pressing a crowded short into a Nasdaq-100 constituent with passive demand behind it.
  • Our estimates could simply be too low. Starship flew successfully on 24 July with its best re-entry yet. May's price increases may stabilise ARPU as soon as the 4 August print.

Why we are still not buying

  • Every bull argument is about the business. None is about the price. We agree with almost all of the column to the left. Our bull case — which grants all of it — produces $119. Spot is $113.50. You are being asked to pay the optimistic outcome and accept the distribution around it for free.
  • The lead is real but mis-scaled. A ten-year launch lead is worth whatever launch is worth: $4.1bn of revenue growing 8%, with $653m of EBITDA. It does not underwrite a $1.5 trillion valuation, and the market is not paying for it.
  • "Optionality is cheap to hold" is false at $40bn a year. Orbital data centres have no revenue, a 2027 volume-production target, and consume the cash flows of the only profitable segment. That is not an option — options have bounded cost.
  • Crowded shorts cut both ways. 56% of float on loan is a reason not to be short. It is not a reason to be long. A squeeze is a trading event, and we are not being asked to place a trade.
  • Nothing in the bull case is time-sensitive. If Starship works, if ARPU stabilises, if xAI scales — all of it will still be true in December, after 66% of the shares are free to trade. We can pay up for confirmed facts later. We cannot recover capital committed into a supply avalanche.
§18

Ranked by what would actually cost the client money

Ordered by expected impact on value, not by likelihood or by how often the risk appears in press coverage. The two highest-ranked items are structural rather than operational — they cannot be resolved by good execution.

RiskSeverityLikelihoodMechanismWhat we would watch
Sources
Risk mechanisms drawn from the Form S-1 risk factors, the governance analyses in §11, NASA Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel commentary on the Starship HLS schedule, and the competitive sources in §10. Severity and likelihood ratings are our judgement.
§19

Do not buy at $113.50. Buy the supply, not the story.

This is a price and evidence decision, not a quality judgement. We want to own this asset. We want to own it at a price that pays us for what sits around it, and after the shares that will be sold have been sold.

The execution plan
Accumulation opens only below our base-case fair value, and only after the December unlock.
StepTriggerSizeCumulative
TodayNo position. Do not short — 56% of float on loan0%0%
Tranche 1Price ≤ $55 and after the 9 December full unlock1.0%1.0%
Tranche 2Price ≤ $40, or ≤ $55 with two upgrade conditions met1.0%2.0%
Tranche 3Four or more upgrade conditions met, at any price ≤ $701.0%3.0%

The 3.0% ceiling is set by governance, not by valuation. Even at $30 we would not exceed it, because the downside cannot be escalated, litigated or voted.

What would make us buyers

  • ARPU stabilises — two consecutive quarters flat or up, with subscriber growth still above 25%
  • A capex ceiling — management commits to an AI capex cap, or pulls FCF breakeven into 2028
  • Starship converts — orbital refuelling demonstrated and $1bn+ of external commercial run-rate
  • Governance remediation — a dual-class sunset, or removal of mandatory arbitration
  • Supply clears — float above 50%, price basing, short interest below 20% of float

What would remove it from the list entirely

  • AI capex exceeds $45bn annualised without a corresponding revenue inflection
  • A secondary equity raise below $100 — confirms the burn is not under control
  • Musk departure or incapacity — there is no succession structure that mitigates this
  • Loss of NSSL or NASA programme-of-record status to a political process
  • Starlink net subscriber declines in any developed market — the terminal-value assumption breaks
Sources
Position sizing, trigger levels and thresholds are our recommendations, derived from the valuation work in §13–§15 and the governance constraint in §11. Lock-up dates per §12. This is a recommendation to an investment committee, not a solicitation; suitability depends on the client's mandate.
§20

Every hard number, and where it came from

Primary and secondary sources

  • Form S-1, Space Exploration Technologies Corp., filed with the SEC on 20 May 2026 — segment revenue, segment EBITDA, capex, backlog, share structure, compensation, risk factors
  • S-1 secondary analysis — Mostly Metrics, Morningstar, Via Satellite, Hargreaves Lansdown, PCMag/Intellectia
  • Market data — TradingView SPCX quote, 27 July 2026 close: $113.50, $1.53tn market capitalisation, 646m free float
  • Transactions — CNBC on the $1.25tn xAI merger (3 Feb 2026) and the $25bn bond sale (23 Jun 2026); SpaceNews and DCD on the EchoStar spectrum purchases
  • Contracts — GovConWire, Via Satellite, Payload and Fed-Spend on NSSL Phase 3, Starshield and aggregate federal awards
  • Sell side — Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs, Evercore ISI, Wells Fargo and UBS initiations, July 2026
  • Independent — Aswath Damodaran (NYU Stern), $1.3tn equity valuation; S&P Global Ratings free-cash-flow commentary
  • Governance — National Law Review and DarrowEverett LLP analyses of the S-1 provisions

What is not publicly known

  • xAI segment EBITDA is not separately disclosed. Our –$1.2bn figure is a balancing item against reported group adjusted EBITDA of $6.6bn.
  • Starlink replacement capital is not broken out. Our ~$5bn charge is inferred from the $4.2bn connectivity capex line, the five-year design life and the ~2,000-satellite annual replacement requirement.
  • Follow-on Starshield contract values are classified.
  • 2026 guidance had not been issued as at 27 July. The 4 August call is the first.
  • The exact diluted share count is not cleanly disclosed post-IPO. We use 13.5bn, implied by market capitalisation; the S-1 shows 12.53bn Class A and B.

Model conventions

Two independent valuation routes are run and cross-checked: a near-term sum-of-the-parts on 2026E segment economics, and a 2030 scenario model built forward by segment and discounted at 12% over four years. They produce $49 and $41 respectively in the base case. Probability weights of 30% bear, 45% base and 25% bull are our own judgement; applying them gives $53 per share.

Every figure tagged Der or Est is ours, not the company's. Use the switch in the contents rail to redact all of them at once.